Project 440: 4 Commissions. 40 Years of Orpheus.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

We began in June with 60 of today’s most talented emerging composers. Now, after hearing from WQXR listeners and considering YOUR feedback, the Selection Committee has narrowed it dow...


Perspectives on Project 440

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Hear from Graham Parker, Vice President of WQXR/Former Executive Director of Orpheus, and Melinda Wagner and Fred Lerdahl, two composers who have composed for Orpheus in the past.


Project 440 on Video

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Get the latest insights on Project 440—and responses to your comments—in this series of short, informal videos, featuring Orpheus musicians and members of the Nominating Panel.


Project 440 versus…“American Idol”?

Monday, July 12, 2010

To all of you who have contributed your comments and questions about Project 440 thus far, thanks! It’s great to see so many thoughtful and wide-ranging opinions. In response to one question—whether Project 440 is a variation on “American Idol” or reality TV at large—we’d like to offer a note of clarification.

Comments [1]

Preben Antonsen

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

I wrote An Ordinary Evening at the Yellowbarn Young Artists Program during the summer of 2009. My goal for the piece was to create music that was driven by textures and timbres rath...

Comments [17]

Yao Chen

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The autumn of 2005 is special in my memory—it arrived suddenly, and faded away at an extremely slow pace. It was amazing for me to listen to the sound of the wind blowing through th...

Comments [41]

Donnacha Dennehy

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The creative spark for Crane was an ambitious collaborative concept: an urban industrial ballet, to involve a live orchestral performance and the choreographed movement of cranes lo...

Comments [9]

Benjamin Ellin

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

A major work for brass and percussion, Nahstops 2 was written in 2004 for James Watson and the Royal Academy of Music in London. It is a dramatic and varied work composed for a larg...

Comments [96]

Devin Farney

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The musical legacy of French composer Erik Satie (1866-1925) is, in the eyes of many, superseded by the quirks that defined him as a man. Such eccentricities are often evident in th...


Aaron Grad

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Unlike all other stringed instruments, which make sound through some act of plucking, hammering or bowing, the Aeolian harp is activated by wind blowing across the strings, like a t...

Comments [64]

Judd Greenstein

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The Night Gatherers, for viola quintet, was commissioned by the family of my friend, a violist, as a celebration of the life of their recently deceased matriarch. This impressive wo...

Comments [14]

Yotam Haber

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Espresso was the first work I wrote in New York City. It was written in a tiny studio just big enough for an upright piano, a chair, a desk, and an espresso machine—the bare neces...

Comments [34]

Martin Kennedy

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Suite for string quartet was commissioned by Musica Reginae, a relatively new classical music society based in Queens, New York.  Their newly formed resident quartet was interested...

Comments [4]

Christopher Lee

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The title Interiors is meant to signify a psychological or emotional interior, a mixture of impulse and instinct that operates beneath the surface of conscious action. This general ...

Comments [5]

James Lee III

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Scenes Upon Eternity’s Edge is one work in a series of compositions in which I draw my source of inspiration from the biblical books of Daniel and Revelation.

Comments [67]

David T. Little

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Although it might appear that the two works submitted here occupy different points on the musical spectrum, they are nonetheless unified by their source of inspiration: people’s eve...

Comments [12]

Zibuokle Martinaityte

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Driving Force (2004) for trombone, tenor saxophone and accordion (commissioned by Gaida Festival, Lithuania)  A driving force is the inner device that stimulates any activity. An ...

Comments [59]

AJ McCaffrey

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Stop is the new Go was written for the Avion Saxophone Quartet in the summer of 2007. I was interested in trying to translate some ideas from film and cinema into music. I was think...

Comments [25]

Polina Nazaykinskaya

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

Each piece of music that I write comes from the depth of my heart, from the inner ocean of emotions and possibilities that are carried by waves of memories. Just as a sculptor frees...

Comments [55]

Jonathan Russell

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

The two pieces here—ELEVEN and Sextet —embody many of my current musical interests. Both use minimalist and vernacular materials as starting points, but develop them into complex, d...

Comments [4]