On-Demand Audio: The Knights Spotlight the Music of Bryce Dessner

Email a Friend
The Knights

October 15, New York ensemble The Knights performed music of Bryce Dessner live at the Winter Garden at Brookfield Place. The evening was presented in partnership with Arts Brookfield and WNYC's New Sounds Live and hosted by John Schaefer.

Best known as a guitarist and songwriter for The National, Dessner has composed for Kronos Quartet, Eighth Blackbird, So Percussion and the Copenhagen Philharmonic. Upcoming commissions include new works for the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra. Dessner is also the founder of MusicNOW, an annual contemporary-music festival in Cincinnati, Ohio.

This performance opens with a new arrangement of Tenebrae, a piece originally composed for Kronos Quartet with vocals from singer-songwriter Sufjan Stevens (appearing here via tape). The show also includes his Lachrimae (written for the Amsterdam Sinfonietta) and Raphael.

The Knights are a flexible chamber orchestra founded by violinist Colin Jacobsen and cellist Eric Jacobsen (also founding members of Brooklyn Rider). The ensemble's diverse lineup of collaborators include saxophonist Joshua Redman, Béla Fleck, Yo-Yo Ma and Jeremy Denk.


Bryce Dessner - Tenebrae

Bryce Dessner - Lachrimae

Bryce Dessner - Raphael

Engineers: Edward Haber (technical director), George Wellington (music mix), and Kristin Mueller