Zukerman, Webern, and Brahms

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, November 11, 2010

This week's broadcast combines strands of the Austro-German tradition. Alan Gilbert conducts the rich-textured Passacaglia (Op. 1) of Anton Webern and two endlessly popular works by Brahms: his Symphony No. 4 and the Violin Concerto, the latter featuring soloist Pinchas Zukerman. Gilbert calls Zukerman "a consummate musician" whose violin playing is "absolutely soulful and deeply expressive."





Program details:

Webern: Passacaglia, Op. 1

Brahms: Violin Concerto

Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Pinchas Zukerman, violin

Alan Gilbert, conductor

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.