Pianist Claude Frank

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, November 14, 2010

Pianist Claude Frank is a living link to the great Romantics whose music he has enlivened for over half a century. This week he brings us works of two of them—Beethoven and Schumann—along with a beloved sonata of Mozart. Mr. Frank not only conveys a sense of these works' depth and beauty, but their bracing humanity as well. He concludes Beethoven's epic Opus 110 sonata, a signature work for pianist and composer alike.

Featured works:

Robert Schumann: Arabesque

Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Sonata in C major No. 10, K. 330

      —I. "Allegro moderato"

      —II. "Andante cantabile"

      —III. "Allegretto"

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 31, Opus 110

      —I. "Moderato cantabile molto espressivo"

      —II. "Allegro molto"

      —III. "Adagio ma non troppo"

      —IV. "Fuga, L’istesso tempo della Fuga"


Comments [1]

Michael Meltzer

Of all the legends of the world of pianists, there is no one more thoroughly likeable than Claude Frank.
If the Reader's Digest were still doing its old feature, "The Most Unforgettable Character I've Ever Met," Mr. Frank should certainly be a subject.

Nov. 14 2010 05:01 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.