Magnus Lindberg's Kraft

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Tonight's broadcast features one of the most attention-getting pieces of the fall season in New York: Magnus Lindberg's 1985 industrial work Kraft. That piece, which got its New York premiere, features an arsenal of noise-making instruments augmented by various found objects, including scrap metal, an oxygen tank and other junk, all of which were picked up from a Staten Island junkyard. The program also features Joshua Bell performing the Violin Concerto of a much earlier Finn, Jean Sibelius, and Debussy's Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun.

Program Details:

Conductor: Alan Gilbert
Soloists: Joshua Bell, violin; Magnus Lindberg, piano; Carter Brey, cello; Christopher S. Lamb, percussion; Markus Rhoten, timpani; Juhani Liimatainen, electronics

Debussy: Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun
Sibelius: Violin Concerto
Lindberg: Kraft