Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto and Stravinsky's Firebird

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, December 09, 2010

On this week's broadcast, the veteran Spanish conductor Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos leads the Philharmonic in a program of blockbuster fare. Glinka's curtain-raiser, the Overture to Ruslan and Ludmila leads into Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto with the Greek soloist Leonidas Kavakos. Debussy's Nocturnes showcase a mellower sound of the orchestra (along with the Women of the New York Choral Artists) before the program returns to Russian virtuosity, with Stravinsky's Suite from The Firebird.

Program details:

Glinka: Overture to Ruslan and Ludmila  
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto
Debussy: Nocturnes
Stravinsky: Suite from The Firebird (1919)

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor
Leonidas Kavakos, violin

Listen to The New York Philharmonic podcast about this concert.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.