Anne-Sophie Mutter and Lambert Orkis

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

For three decades now, Anne-Sophie Mutter has been known simply as one of the greatest violinists alive. As part of her ambitious Mozart Project, a survey of the composer's major works for solo violin, she celebrated his 250th birthday in 2006 with a program of Mozart violin sonatas. In her playing and in her words, there's no mistaking that Anne-Sophie Mutter feels a true kinship with Mozart. She understands this music and its creator like few people today do. Join Bill McGlaughlin when he welcomes one of the world's greatest violinists, Anne-Sophie Mutter, with pianist Lambert Orkis, in a tribute to Mozart.

Music played in show:

Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Violin Sonata in B-flat major, K. 454

—I. Largo; Allegro

—III. Allegretto

Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Violin Sonata in G major, K.379
—I. Adagio; Allegro
—II. Thema: Andante cantabile

Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Violin Sonata in E minor, K. 304
—II. Tempo di Menuetto