Elgar and Mozart

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, January 06, 2011

Conductor Sir Colin Davis is 83; violinist Nikolaj Zdnaider is 35. Yet despite having more than two generations between them, the two artists find unique common ground in Edward Elgar's Violin Concerto. The sprawling, 50-minute work was composed in 1910 for the violinist Fritz Kreisler and it contains all of Elgar's signature majesty and melancholy. Also on this week's program is Mozart's Symphony No. 36 and another Elgar gem, the Introduction and Allegro.

Program details:

Elgar: Introduction and Allegro

Mozart: Symphony No. 36, Linz

Elgar: Violin Concerto

Sir Colin Davis, conductor


Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.