Leif Ove Andsnes performs Schumann, Beethoven and Mompou

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, January 09, 2011

Celebrated pianist Leif Ove Andsnes makes a warmly anticipated return visit this week with music that reaffirms his astonishing technical and emotional powers.

He begins with four short works of Robert Schumann, conjuring from each all of the rapidly mutating moods and colors they chart, and moves on to a work of even greater temperamental grandeur: Ludwig van Beethoven's Opus 110 piano sonata. In the echo of that monument, Mr. Andsnes's concluding performances of Lizst and Mompou sound all the more wondrous.

Music featured on this program:

Robert Schumann: Four Piano Pieces, Op. 32

      —I. Scherzo

      —II. Gigue

      —III. Romance

      —IV. Fughette

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 31 in A flat Major, Op. 110

      —I. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo

      —II. Allegro ma non troppo

      —III. Adagio, ma non troppo

      —IV. Fuga, Allegro ma non troppo

Federico Mompou: Canción y Danzas No. 1

Franz Liszt: Valse Impromptu

For more information about this program, please visit the Saint Paul Sunday Web site.

Comments [2]


Try listening to the program in Firefox or try following this link: http://saintpaulsunday.publicradio.org/wmcontent/596.asx

If you're still having trouble, you can contact the producers of Saint Paul Sunday here: http://saintpaulsunday.publicradio.org/contact/

Jan. 10 2011 10:58 AM

When/how can one hear the Leif Ove Andsnes
program. When I went to the St Paul Sunday website & clicked on "hear this performance" buttton, it did not work.

Jan. 09 2011 09:14 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.