Episode #589

Guarneri String Quartet performs Mozart, Ravel, Dvořák

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, July 31, 2011

On the heels of their 40th anniversary, the Guarneri String Quartet returns to Saint Paul Sunday with music by Mozart, Dvořák and Ravel — works that reveal the heart and soul of this revered ensemble as movingly today as they did when it first performed them. Each composer's distinct voice shines, but refracted through a sound and mastery wholly the Guarneri's own. After more than four decades, both remain undimmed.

Program Details

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quartet No. 19 in C major, K. 465 "Dissonant"
—I. Adagio; Allegro

Maurice Ravel: String Quartet in F major
—I. Allegro moderato-Très doux
—IV. Vif et agité

Antonín Dvořák: String Quartet No. 11 in C major, Op. 61
—II. Poco adagio e molto cantabile
—IV. Finale. Vivace

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.