Bronfman Plays Brahms

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Yefim Bronfman once confessed to an interviewer that he hated sleeping because it took time from enjoying such fun things in life as people, movies, theater, good wine and even an occasional good cigar. The Russian powerhouse is all business however when it comes to playing Brahms, as he does in this week’s broadcast. Along with the Brahms Second Concerto, the Philharmonic tackles Schumann’s Symphony No. 4 and Con Brio, a concert overture by the young German composer Jörg Widmann. Eighty-one-year-old Christoph von Dohnányi conducts.

Program Details:

Jörg Widmann: Con brio, Concert Overture for Orchestra  

Schumann: Symphony No. 4

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2

Christoph von Dohnányi: Conductor

Yefim Bronfman: Piano