Episode #575

Brentano String Quartet

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, March 20, 2011

The madrigals of Don Carlo Gesualdo comprise some of the most intensely expressive music ever composed. This week on Saint Paul Sunday the celebrated Brentano String Quartet brings five of them to us as they've been re-imagined for it by composer Bruce Adolphe. 

The Brentano captures all of the sweet torment of the pieces, whose vividly compounded moods set the stage well for what comes next: Mozart's A Major Quartet (K. 464), a work of peerless eloquence and technical brilliance that likewise explores zones hovering between pleasure and pain. The Brentano fathoms both composer's works with exhilarating insights all its own.

Program Details

Don Carlo Gesualdo (arr. Bruce Adolphe): Madrigals Book VI —Deh, come invan sospiro
—Belta, pi che t'assenti
—Resta di darmi noia
—Gia piansi nel dolore
—Moro, lasso

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quartet in A major, No. 18, K. 464 
—I. Allegro
—II. Menuetto - Trio
—III. Andante
—IV. Allegro non troppo

    Hosted by:

    Ara Guzelimian

    Leave a Comment

    Email addresses are required but never displayed.

    The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.