Branford Marsalis Plays Glazunov and Schulhoff

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Saxophonist Branford Marsalis has been making the rounds with symphony orchestras this season, including a recent series of dates with the New York Philharmonic. In this week's broadcast, we hear his performances of Glazunov’s Concerto for Alto Saxophone and String Orchestra and Erwin Schulhoff’s “Hot-Sonate” for alto saxophone and piano, arranged for winds, brass, double basses and percussion by Richard Rodney Bennett. Also on the eclectic program are Haydn’s Symphony No. 60 (“Il Distratto,” or “The Absent-Minded Man”) and Strauss’s suite from the comédie-ballet Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme.

Program details:

Haydn: Symphony No. 60, Il distratto

Glazunov: Concerto for Alto Saxophone

Schulhoff: Hot-Sonate for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra

R. Strauss: Le Bourgeois gentilhomme

Andrey Boreyko, conductor

Branford Marsalis, Alto Saxophone