Building Blocks

« previous episode | next episode »

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Where would music be today if it didn't stand on the shoulders of giants? Host Terrance McKnight spins sounds which build directly upon the past, with Don Byron's take on Chopin, John Corigliano's variations on Bach, and more.

An undisputed champion of the jazz and klezmer worlds, Byron shows you Chopin's Larghetto through the lens of some soaring clarinet action. The Hilliard Ensemble blows the dust off of Bach's Partita in D Minor with their own re-imagination of the work. Mulgrew Miller and Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen weave their version of Duke Ellington's Come Sunday. John Corigliano celebrates and memorializes a loved one by way of Fancy on a Bach Air, a work that unravels the melodic threads of Bach's Goldberg Variations. Finally, Bill Frisell sucks you into late-night tranquility with a solo guitar version of What the World Needs Now is Love.

This and music by William Grant Still, David Lang, Franz Liszt and other fine earlifts in this edition of the show.


Brooklyn Rider
Colin Jacobsen, violin
Johnny Gandelsman, violin
Nicholas Cords, viola
Eric Jacobsen, cello
Jeff Beecher, bass
Mark Suter, percussion
In a Circle Records

Misha Alperin
Misha Alperin, piano
Anja Lechner, cello

Frederic Chopin
Don Byron, arranger
Don Byron, clarinet
Blue Note

Making Music
Zakir Hussain
Zakir Hussain, tabla
Hariprasad Chaurasia, flute
John McLaughlin, guitar
Jan Garbarek, saxophone

While Nailing at Random
David Lang
Kathleen Supove, piano

Transcendental Etude No. 10 in F Minor: Allegro agitato molto
Franz Liszt
Andre Watts, piano

Morimur: Violin Partita in D Minor, BWV 1004, ciaconna, with chant
Johann Sebastian Bach
Hilliard Ensemble
Christoph Poppen, violin

Evan Ziporyn
Boston Modern Orchestra Project
Gil Rose, conductor
Evan Ziporyn, bass clarinet

Drumming, Part Four
Steve Reich
So Percussion

Here's One
William Grant Still
Ruth Hamilton, contralto
Vivian Taylor, piano
Johnny Gandelsman, violin

Come Sunday
Edward K. (Duke) Ellington
Mulgrew Miller, piano
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, bass
Bang & Olufsen

Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun" (Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune)
Claude Debussy/Jacques Loussier
Jacques Loussier Trio

Fancy on a Bach Air
John Corigliano
Yo-Yo Ma, cello

What the World Needs Now is Love
Burt Bacharach
Bill Frisell
Bill Frisell, guitar

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.