Masur Conducts Liszt, Gubaidulina, and Brahms

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Philharmonic violists Cynthia Phelps and Rebecca Young reprise the premiere of Sofia Gubaidulina's Two Paths, a piece for and about two women, with conductor Kurt Mazur and the New York Philharmonic in Avery Fisher Hall. Liszt's Symphonic Poem No. 3, Les Préludes, and Brahms's long-awaited Symphony No. 1 in C Minor round out the program.

Program Details

Kurt Masur, conductor
Cynthia Phelps, viola
Rebecca Young, viola

Franz Liszt - Les Préludes
Sofia Gubaidulina - Two Paths
Johannes Brahms - Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.