Rachel Barton Pine, violin; Matthew Hagle, piano

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, May 08, 2011

This week on Saint Paul Sunday, Bill McGlaughlin welcomes a daughter of Chicago—violinist Rachel Barton Pine—whose richly varied offerings, including Ravel's "Blues" sonata, reveal the virtuosity and exuberance that are her trademark. She'll also perform a trio of Baroque solo works, a delightful Scottish Suite, and the world premiere of a breathtaking new work called "Rush" by another Chicagoan, composer Augusta Read Thomas. Don't miss it.

Program Details

J. S. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G Minor
—III. Siciliana

Johann Georg Pisendel: Sonata in a minor
—I. [Largo]

Johann Paul von Westhoff: Suite No. 2 in A Major
—IV. Gigue

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 8 in G Major Op. 30, No. 3
—I. Allegro assai

Augusta Read Thomas: Rush (World Première)

Maurice Ravel: Sonata No. 1 in G Major

Alexander Mackenzie: Pibroch Suite
—Dance: Allegro vivace-Lento-Presto

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.