An American Retrospective

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

The New York Philharmonic delves into its storied history to present notable works by American composers. Hear Leonard Bernstein conduct Gershwin, Kurt Masur conduct Ellington/Marsalis and Aaron Copland conduct his own work in these remarkable archival performances.

Program Details

Gershwin-Bennett: A Symphonic Picture of Porgy and Bess (Leonard Bernstein, conductor)
Russo: Symphony #2 (Bernstein, conductor)
Ellington-Marsalis: A Tone Parallel to Harlem (Kurt Masur, conductor)
Copland: The Tender Land, abridged version (Aaron Copland, conductor)