Astral Artists in Concert I

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

These young bright things scoop up prize winnings like handfuls of flowers. We’d print them all here, but we don’t want to crash the internet. The Philadelphia management agency Astral Artists catches artists while their careers are lifting off so you can hear them before they hit the big time and we bring them to you live. This group rotates through a cast of trios, starting in classical Austria, jumping to contemporary America, and ending in romantic Germany. Pianist Michael Mizrahi gets no rest, playing throughout the program, while Korbinian Altenberger, Clancy Newman, Saeka Matsuyama and Doug O’Connor take turns joining him.


Joseph Haydn – Trio in A
(Korbinian Altenberger, violin;  Clancy Newman, cello;  Michael Mizrahi, piano)

Walter S. Hartley – Dance Suite
(Saeka Matsuyama, violin;  Doug O'Connor, saxophone;  Michael Mizrahi, piano)

Robert Schumann – Trio No.1, Op. 63, in d minor
(Korbinian Altenberger, violin;  Clancy Newman, cello;  Michael Mizrahi, piano)

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.