Episode #559

Paul Coletti, viola; Lydia Artymiw, piano

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Violas and violists are now such a familiar presences in classical music that we may surprised to learn how long it took for the greatest composers to channel the instrument's unique spirit into extended solo works. This week, Bill welcomes return visits by violist Paul Coletti and pianist Lydia Artymiw—two remarkable soloists joining forces to explore a trio of the earliest and best works composed for the viola.

Program Details

Felix Mendelssohn: Viola Sonata in c minor
—I. Adagio allegro
—IV. Antante con variazioni

Robert Schumann: Märchenbilder, Op. 113 (Scenes of a Fairyland)
—I. Nicht schnell
—II. Lebhaft
—III. Rasch
—IV. Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck

Johannes Brahms: Viola Sonata No. 2 in E-flat, Op. 120

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.