Shostakovich, Rachmaninoff and Schoenberg

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Elements of the new and grotesque tie tonight's program together, from the highly brash Shostakovich First Symphony and the sound waves created in Rachmaninoff's Isle of the Dead through the hysterical protagonist of Schoenberg's Erwartung. David Robertson leads the New York Philharmonic with guest soloist Deborah Voigt.

Program Details

David Robertson, conductor
Deborah Voigt, soprano

SHOSTAKOVICH - Symphony No. 1
RACHMANINOFF - The Isle of the Dead
SCHOENBERG - Erwartung

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.