Email a Friend

Masques, a Montreal-based early music ensemble founded in 1998, specializes in the music of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.  Its name is inspired by the masques of Elizabethan England—mystical performances that fused poetry, music, dance, and drama.

While maintaining a core ensemble, Masques collaborates with European artists and groups according to the requirements of the projects it presents.  The ensemble tours North America with concerts in Washington, D.C., New York, and Pittsburgh; in Europe it has performed in cities in the Netherlands and France.  The ensemble won the Grand Prize in the Dorian/Early Music America Competition in 2000, and it was a finalist at the York Early Music Competition in 2001.  Its recordings for ATMA Classique include music of Matthew Locke, Henry Purcell, and Heinrich von Biber and his contemporaries.  The members of Masques appear as soloists and chamber musicians with groups such as Tafelmusik, Capriccio Stravagante, La Petite Bande, and Les Voix Humaines.  Masques gave its first performance in New York City at The Frick Collection in 2004.

Members of Masques

Sophie Gent and Tuomo Suni, violins
Kathleen Kajioka, viola
Mélisande Corriveau, cello, viola da gamba, and recorder
Pierre-Yves Martel, violone
Olivier Fortin, harpsichord and leader


Sonata VIII A Cinque in G Major from Sonatae tam aris quam aulis servientes, 1676

Heinrich von Biber (1644–1704)

Airs and Dances from The Fairy Queen, Z.629, 1692

Henry Purcell (1659–1695)

First Music: Prelude
First Music: Hornpipe

Second Music: Rondeau

Second Music: Aire

Act III: Hornpipe

Act IV: Symphony and Canzona

Act V: Chaconne–Dance for Chinese Man and Woman

Sonata in A minor for violin, viola da gamba, and basso continuo, BuxWV 272

Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707)

4/4, Allegro
3/2, Allegro

Pars III in A minor from Mensa Sonora, 1680

Heinrich von Biber (1644–1704)

I. Gagliarda
II. (unspecified)
IV. Ciaccona
V. Sonatina

Concerto in C major for sopranino recorder, RV 443

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)

Allegro molto


First Concert from Pièces de clavecin en concert, 1741

Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764)

Le Coulicam
La Livri
Le Vézinet

Sinfonia in D minor

Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach (1732-1795)

Sonata III in D minor, C. 80 from Fidicinium sacro-profanum

Heinrich von Biber (1644–1704)