Endellion String Quartet

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

"How extraordinary that we can arrive to rehearse a quartet that we have performed more than a hundred times and experience again the passion, wonder, and sense of discovery of the very first rehearsal ... How miraculous that we have as our raw materials the infinite subtlety and good humor of Haydn [and] Beethoven's electrifying synthesis of humanity and spirituality ... "

These thoughts of Andrew Watkins, cellist of the Endellion String Quartet, describe the engagement that makes the ensemble one of the best in the world. In addition to music of Haydn and movements of Beethoven's "Dear Quartet," we'll hear the forceful Allegro from Schubert's "Death and the Maiden" quartet. The program offers a vivid spectrum of the Endellions' repertoire.

Program Details:

Franz Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in C Major, Opus 20, No. 2

—I. Moderato.

—II. Capriccio Adagio.

—III. Menuet: Allegretto.

—IV. Fuga a Quattro Soggetti: Allegro.


Franz Schubert: String Quartet in d minor, D. 810, "Death and the Maiden"

—I. Allegro


Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet in B Flat Major, Opus 130, "Liebquartett" ("Dear Quartet")

—II. Presto.

—III. Andante con moto, ma non troppo