SONiC Boom!: American Composers Orchestra's First Night

Email a Friend

The opening concert of the 2011 SONiC Festival featured conductor George Manahan and the American Composers Orchestra (ACO) performing works by Kenji Bunch, Christopher Stark, Alex Temple, Andrei Pinto-Correia and Wang Lu. The concert, titled Orchestra Underground: 21st Firsts, took place at Carnegie's Zankel Hall with an array of multi-talented featured performers including violist Kenji Bunch, vocalist Mellissa Hughes and video artist Daniel Iglesia.

The American Composers Orchestra was formed in 1977 with the explicit purpose of creating, performing and preserving music by American composers. To date, the orchestra has performed music by over six hundred composers, including more than two hundred world premieres and commissioned works.

The ACO has spearheaded several projects including EarShot, which networks symphony orchestras around the country with American composers; the Improvise! Festival, which supports the integration of improvisation into orchestral works; and 20th-Century Snapshots, a celebration of the millennium based on American themes and ideas.

SONiC Festival Program: October 14, 2011
American Composers Orchestra from Zankel Hall 


Christopher Stark: ...and start west*


Andreia Pinto-Correia: Elegia a Al-Mu'tamid*


Alex Temple: Liebeslied* (Mellissa Hughes, vocalist)


Wang Lu: Flowing Water Study II* (Daniel Iglesia, video artist)


Kenji Bunch: The Devil's Box* (Kenji Bunch, violist)

*denotes world premiere