Re:Sound: Second Installment

Email a Friend

On Wednesday, October 26 at 7 pm, Q2 Music presents the second Re:Sound webcast: a special, patchwork-quilt, virtual concert of those pieces which received the most votes over the second half of the American Composers Orchestra's SONiC: Sounds of a New Century Festival 2011. Hear exclusive live performances of pieces by Marcos Balter, Son Lux, Andrew Norman, Tristan Perich, Matt Marks and many more. 

To qualify pieces for Re:Sound, audience members voted by text message, smart phone or online for the piece they'd most like to hear again from each show. Those that received the most votes would be included in two special 7 pm presentations on Wednesday, October 19 and Wednesday, October 26. Hear your fellow New Yorkers' favorite SONiC selections in full streaming, sonic glory, and help us freeze this rich and frenzied hotbed of musical activity for sympathetic new-music audiences around the globe. 

Hosted by Olivia Giovetti, tonight's presentation features performances that took place at Symphony Space, Joyce SoHo, The Stone, 92YTribeca, Roulette, Joe's Pub and the World Financial Center Winter Garden by a multitude of powerhouse new-music ensembles including Alarm Will Sound, International Contemporary Ensemble and Ensemble Klang.

Kenji Bunch The Devil's Box
Alex Temple Liebeslied
Fabian Svensson Two Sides
Victor Adan / Douglas Repetto Tractus
Yotam Haber I Am
Kati Agocs Coloratura
Jessie Montgomery Standing / Forward
Mark Dancigers Sinfonia
Jason Moran Cane
Paula Matthusen But Because Without This
Jonny Greenwood Smear
  • Sean Friar: Little Green Pop (Ensemble Klang)
  • Konrad Kaczmarak: Points on a Line (Konrad Kaczmarek, piano and electronics)
  • Marcos Balter: Edgewater (International Contemporary Ensemble)
  • Corey Dargel: Hold Yourself Together (Excerpts) (Innovocal)
  • Matt Marks: A Song for Wade (This is Not That Song) (Alarm Will Sound)
  • David T. Little: Haunted Topography (Alarm Will Sound)
  • Paul Yeon Lee: Echo of a Dream (American Composers Orchestra; George Manahan, conductor)
  • Andrew Norman: Unstuck (American Composers Orchestra; George Manahan, conductor)
  • Greg Breyer: Bahian Counterpoint (Greg Beyer, berimbau and tape)
  • Tristan Perich: qsqsqsqsqqqqqqqqq (Tristan Perich and friends)
  • Clint Needham: Color Study (Camerata Aberta)
  • Christopher Stark...And Start West (American Composers Orchestra; George Manahan, conductor)

This program is subject to change.