Episode #599

Claude Frank, piano

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Celebrated pianist Claude Frank is a living link to the great Romantics whose music he has enlivened for over half a century. This week he brings us works of two of them — Beethoven and Schumann — along with a beloved sonata of Mozart. Frank not only conveys a sense of these works' depth and beauty, but their bracing humanity as well. He concludes Beethoven's epic Opus 110 sonata, a signature work for pianist and composer alike.

Program Details:

Robert Schumann: "Arabesque."

Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Sonata in C major No. 10, K. 330
— I. "Allegro moderato"
— II. "Andante cantabile"
— III. "Allegretto"

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 31, Opus 110.
— I. "Moderato cantabile molto espressivo"
— II. "Allegro molto"
— III. "Adagio ma non troppo"
— IV. "Fuga, L’istesso tempo della Fuga"

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.