Episode #594

OPUS ONE and Tsontakis, Martinů, Brahms

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, November 20, 2011

When they're not performing with either TASHI, or the Guarneri and Orion string quartets, the accomplished soloists of OPUS ONE join forces out of a warm mutual admiration for each another's artistry. They freely share in the excitement of performing the great music of their particular combination. In their most recent visit to Saint Paul Sunday, violinist Ida Kavafian, violist Steven Tenenbom, cellist Peter Wiley, and pianist Anne-Marie McDermott offer us some of the most spirited piano quartets in the repertoire — works of Mozart, Brahms, and Martinů —side by side with arresting new music of another collaborator, composer George Tsontakis.



Program details:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, K. 493
— I. "Allegro"

George Tsontakis: Piano Quartet No. 3
— I. First movement

Bohuslav Martinu: Piano Quartet
— I. "Poco Allegro"

Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet in g minor, Op. 25
— III. "Andante con moto"
— IV. "Rondo alla Zingarese: Presto"

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.