Orpheus Chamber Orchestra: Pushing Boundaries

Email a Friend

The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra continues its 39th season with a program that includes oboe soloist Albrecht Mayer, Hindemith’s Kammermusik No. 1 (Chamber Music No. 1), and a world premiere by the up-and-coming composer Andrew Norman.

Hindemith’s Kammermusik No. 1 launched his career at the age of 26 and captures the brassy, bubbling energy of 1920s Germany. It is the first in the series of eight compositions he wrote between 1922 and 1927.

German oboist Albrecht Mayer returns to Orpheus with two works that stretch the oboe repertoire: Bach’s Concerto in A Major for Oboe d’amore, which was reconstructed from the composer’s own keyboard arrangement, and Mozart’s Andante, borrowing a favorite flute solo.

The world premiere commission comes from Andrew Norman, whose textured music re-imagines the orchestra for the 21st century. It is the second of four world premieres from rising composers commissioned through Project 440.

Haydn’s Symphony No. 103, "Drumroll" rounds out the program.

WQXR broadcasts the concert live from Carnegie Hall at 7 pm Saturday, Dec. 3, with host Naomi Lewin.

Program details:

Hindemith: Kammermusik No. 1, Op. 24

Mozart: Andante for Oboe and Orchestra in C Major, K. 315

Bach: Concerto in A Major, BWV 1055

Andrew Norman: Apart, Together (Project 440 commission, World Premiere)

Haydn: Symphony No. 103 in E-flat Major, "Drumroll"

Video: Apart, Together by Andrew Norman, a Project 440 commission