Conductor and Pianist Jeffrey Kahane Plays Beethoven

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Jeffrey Kahane does double duty as conductor and pianist for Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1, which features no fewer than three cadenzas in the first movement alone, as well as an introspective and deeply felt slow movement and a charming concluding rondo.

For Bach’s Violin and Oboe Concerto, Sheryl Staples and Liang Wang take on the soloist duties, respectively. Also on the program is Mozart’s 33rd Symphony.

Program details:

Bach: Violin and Oboe Concerto, BWV 1060.

Mozart: Symphony No. 33, K. 319.

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.