Clifton Gates

Download Music by Sleeping Giant Composer Jacob Cooper Performed by Timothy Andres

« previous episode | next episode »

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Every week as part of Sleeping Giant's December residency on Hammered!, Q2 Music offers an exclusive audio download of solo piano music written by members of the Brooklyn-based collective performed by its own composer-pianist Timothy Andres.

Week Three Download | Clifton Gates by Jacob Cooper
performed by Timothy Andres, piano 

The first piece I ever heard Timo Andres perform—on an overnight concert in 2006—was John Adams’s Phrygian Gates. Adams named his composition after the sudden shifts of “gates” in electronics (and electronic music), which provided inspiration for the work’s abrupt modulation of keys. Clifton Gates employs—among other digital effects—actual audio gates, creating a rhythmic alteration out of sudden shifts in amplitude. The gating effect is especially audible as the work begins, processing music whose tonality and texture are reminiscent of the slow middle section of Adams’s piece.

Clifton Gates was workshopped in Timo’s apartment on Clifton Place in Brooklyn, NY.  

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.