Pinchas Zukerman, Christoph Eschenbach & Brahms

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

This week's broadcast from the New York Philharmonic explores the concept of transformation.

Alban Berg transforms a Bach chorale in the context of his sweeping Violin Concerto, which is performed here with soloist Pinchas Zukerman. Arnold Schoenberg expands and embellishes the Brahms Piano Quartet in his lavish early-20th century orchestration. In it's U.S. premiere, German composer Matthias Pintscher's towards Osiris portrays the Egyptian god who is hacked to death by his jealous brother Seth through a metamorphosis of themes and material. Christophe Eschenbach conducts.


Christophe Eschenbach, conductor

Pinchas Zukerman, violin

Matthias Pintscher: towards Osiris  (U.S. Premiere)

Berg: Violin Concerto

Brahms/Schoenberg: Piano Quartet No. 1