War Cries

Today's episode airs at 10 pm.

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, February 05, 2012

Throughout our history, America has gone to war with bravado and with anguish. Songs have helped shape those emotions, and express them—inspiring us to battle, sustaining our courage, giving us a way to lament our losses.

Program details (song, composer/poet and performers):

In Flanders Fields from Three Songs of the War
Charles Ives / John McCrae
Thomas Hampson, baritone; Wolfram Rieger, piano.

A Song on Liberty (Free America)
Traditional / Joseph Warren
Sherrill Milnes, baritone; Jon Spong, harpsichord.

Bunker Hill (The American Hero)
Andrew Law / Nathaniel Niles
The Western Wind ensemble: William Zukof, William Lyon Lee, Lawrence Bennett, Elliot Z. Levine, and Raymond Murcell, singers; Paul Fleischer, piccolo; Allen Herman, snare drum.

The Star Spangled Banner
John Stafford Smith / Francis Scott Key
Reinald Werrenrath, baritone; orchestra conducted by Josef Pasternack.

Battle Hymn of the Republic
att. William Steffe / Julia Ward Howe
Louise Homer, contralto; orchestra conducted by Nathaniel Shilkret.

Daniel Decatur Emmett / Daniel Decatur Emmett
Mary Lewis, soprano; orchestra conducted by Rosario Bourdon.

All Quiet Along the Potomac Tonight
John Hill Hewitt / Ethel Lynn Eliot Beers
John Aler, tenor; Lawrence Skrobacs, piano.

Over There
George M. Cohan / George M. Cohan
Norah Bayes, singer; orchestra conducted by Josef Pasternack

He is There! from Three Songs of the War
Charles Ives / John McCrae
Samuel Ramey, bass-baritone; Warren Jones, piano.

Shiloh–A Requiem from Soldier Songs
Hugo Weisgall / Herman Melville
Thomas Hampson, baritone; Wolfram Rieger, piano.

So Pretty
Leonard Bernstein / Betty Comden and Adolf Green
Roberta Alexander, soprano; Tan Crone, piano.

Night Battle from War Scenes
Ned Rorem / Walt Whitman
Donald Gramm, baritone; Eugene Istomin, piano.

When Johnny Comes Marching Home from Winds of Destiny: American Songbook IV
Words and music by Patrick S. Gilmore, arranged by George Crumb
Thomas Hampson, baritone; Gilbert Kalish, piano; David Cossin, Haruka Fujii, Ayano Kataoka, Jeffrey Milarsky, percussionists.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.