Music at Oberlin

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Conductor Raphael Jiménez grew up in Venezuela and came up through the El Sistema program as a member of the famed Simón Bolívar National Youth Orchestra. Last year, he was appointed Director of Orchestras at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music.

This week’s Young Artist Showcase feature excerpts from Maestro Jiménez’s debut with the Oberlin Chamber Orchestra: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony and three movements from the Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1, featuring violinist Nathan Lesser, currently a senior at Oberlin.

Program details:

Schubert: Symphony No. 8, Unfinished
-- The Oberlin Chamber Orchestra; Raphael Jimenez, conductor.

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 (Scherzo, Passacaglia and Burlesque movements)
-- The Oberlin Chamber Orchestra; Raphael Jimenez, conductor; Nathan Lesser, violin.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.