Frank Peter Zimmermann Delivers a Fleet Beethoven Violin Concerto

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

In this week’s program, New York Philharmonic artist in residence Frank Peter Zimmermann ascends Beethoven’s “Mount Everest of violin concertos,” performing his only concerto for the instrument. The violinist delivers "fleet, clean and honest playing at a comfortably brisk pace in the outer movements, and a Larghetto of melting sweetness," writes Steve Smith in The New York Times.

Under the direction of Alan Gilbert, the program also includes Stravinsky’s Symphony in Three Movements and Ravel’s lush Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No. 2.

Program details:

Ludwig Van Beethoven: Violin Concerto.

Igor Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements.

Maurice Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No. 2.