Frederic Rzewski and DIY Music-Making

'From The Archives' Streams Weekdays from March 8-30 at 7 am and 8 pm on Q2 Music

« previous episode | next episode »

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

In this 2002 episode of WNYC's Soundcheck, host John Schaefer talks to maverick American icon Frederic Rzewski as well as fellow pianist-composers Michael Hersch and Russian-born Lera Auerbach about performing their own pieces, and working outside the musical mainstream.

Since moving to Italy in 1960, composer Frederic Rzewski has been on the cutting edge of Europe’s electronic-composition scene; ironically, he remains somewhat on the periphery of the American scene. Rzewski performs live in-studio and talks about his stateside obscurity.

Michael Hersch has worked closely with the Pittsburgh Symphony in recent years, and in this episode, he plays a piano reduction of his Symphony No. 2, commissioned by Pittsburgh music director Mariss Jansons. Lera Auerbach also discusses her work, which includes two-dozen piano preludes, and a live in-studio performance of her Suite for Violin and Piano.

From March 8-30, From the Archives streams weekdays at 7 AM and 8 PM on Q2 Music. For more information on American Mavericks, visit

Hosted by:

John Schaefer
The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.