Young Conductors Award Concert

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, April 30, 2012

The Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra, under the direction of conductor Ainars Rubikis (the 2011 Young Conductors Award honoree), performs a program of Debussy, Stravinsky, Britten and Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 2 featuring dynamic soloist Alisa Weilerstein.

Program details:

Debussy: Prelude to The Afternoon of A Faun.

Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 2, Op 126.

Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes.

Stravinsky: The Firebird, orchestral suite of 1919.

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.