On-Demand: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra and Vox Humana

Email a Friend

If all music is an extension of the human voice, for Franz Schreker, an Austrian composer of the early 20th century, a passion for opera colored the lush and melodious Intermezzo and Scherzo.

His Scherzo for Strings opens this program, followed by Beethoven’s Romance No. 2, an elegant piece that displays the iconic composer's lyrical side, and features the Orpheus debut of German violinist Viviane Hagner. WQXR broadcasted the concert live from Carnegie Hall on April 28 with hosts Naomi Lewin and Terrance McKnight.

Hagner also performs Vieuxtemps's Violin Concerto No. 5, a virtuoso tour-de-force in the grand Romantic tradition made famous by legendary violinists like Eugène Ysaÿe and Jascha Heifetz.

The evening’s world premiere comes from the young composer Alex Mincek, whose Pendulum IX: "Machina/Humana" is the last of the four commissioned works through Project 440.

Orpheus’ Carnegie Hall season concludes with Mozart’s Symphony No. 40, a thrilling masterwork that speaks as pure music.

Program details:

Franz Schreker: Scherzo for Strings
Ludwig van Beethoven: Romance No. 2 in F Major
Henri Vieuxtemps: Violin Concerto No. 5 in A minor
Alex Mincek: Pendulum IX: "Machina/Humana" (Project 440 World Premiere)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 40 in G minor

Video: Pendulum IX: "Machina/Humana" by Alex Mincek, a Project 440 commission: