Returning To The Source

The legacy of Arnold Schoenberg as heard through the complete piano music

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, April 30, 2012

Without question Arnold Schoenberg is one of the great composers of the twentieth century. Many would argue, in fact, that musical modernism began with his music. This week on Hammered! we hear the composer's five incomparable piano works alongside the music of composers he may -- or may not -- have impacted.  

Monday's show traces this influence in a very specific, pedagogically familial way, with music first by Schoenberg (his opus 11 Pieces for piano performed by the inimitable Maurizio Pollini), then by one of Schoenberg's pupils -- the great American modernist Leon Kirchner -- and finally by one of Schoenberg's pupil's pupils, in this case John Adams, a student of Kirchner. We'll hear, in addition to opus 11, Kirchner's First Piano Concerto (with the composer as soloist) and Adams' Eros Piano.  

The rest of the week will begin with Schoenberg -- the opus 19, 23, 25 and 33's -- followed by complementary works by Steven Stucky, Luciano Berio, Igor Stravinsky, Milton Babbitt, John Harbison, Jaques Hetu and many others.

Hosted by:

Conor Hanick
The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.