Blomstedt Conducts Mozart and Tchaikovsky

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

Herbert Blomstedt, conductor laureate of the San Francisco Symphony, leads the New York Philharmonic in Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony and Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 9, featuring pianist Garrick Ohlsson.

“It was the last piano concerto Mozart composed in Salzburg, and its stature reminds listeners of his later masterpieces in the genre,” says the New York Philharmonic website. “Mozart performed it in Munich in 1777 and later in Vienna. A bold opening stroke sets this concerto apart: the piano doesn’t wait for a lengthy orchestral introduction; it makes its entrance after just two measures, as if eager to announce its presence, before letting the orchestra have a turn.”

Program details:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 9, K. 271, Jeunehomme (also known as Jenamy)

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5