Ensemble ACJW Live: Bach, Lang and Andriessen

Email a Friend

For their performance on April 29, 2012 at (Le) Poisson Rouge, Ensemble ACJW presented a riveting set of unlikely juxtapositions, pairing arrangements of J.S. Bach by violinist-composer Caleb Burhans with selections from 20th and 21st century composers.

The program interspersed excerpts from the Burhans arrangement of Bach's The Art of Fugue with works by Michael Gordon, Morton Feldman, Steve Reich, David Lang and Louis Andriessen. The evening ranged from solo performances (Lang's Wed) to various chamber permutations of the 20-person ensemble. The show culminated with Andriessen's 1975 classic Workers Union - composed for "any loud-sounding group of instruments."

Ensemble ACJW is the performing arm of The Academy, a trail-blazing performance and educational program of Carnegie Hall, The Juilliard School and the Weill Music Institute. Every two years, 20 young musicians are selected for the two-year program, which is dedicated to helping young artists develop careers as performers, concert programmers and community leaders. In addition to facilitating performance opportunities, the program offers Academy fellows the chance to teach classes in public schools and on selected college campuses.

Michael Gordon: The Low Quartet

J.S. Bach (arr. Caleb Burhans): The Art of the Fugue: Contrapunctus

Morton Feldman: Durations I

J.S. Bach (arr. Burhans): The Art of Fugue: Contrapunctus 13 a 3

David Lang: Wed

J.S. Bach (arr. Burhans): The Art of Fugue: Contrapunctus 11 a 4

Louis Andriessen: Workers Union