Oberlin and Symphony in C

« previous episode | next episode »

Friday, May 25, 2012

Two vigorous performances by the Oberlin Chamber Orchestra under Raphael Jimenez bookend this week’s Young Artist Showcase.

First off, a haunting piece called Mozart’s Hymn by American composer Daniel Kellogg; and as a coda, a crisp performance of the finale from Beethoven’s "Pastoral" Symphony.

In the middle, live recordings of two excellent young soloists backed by the New Jersey-based training orchestra, Symphony in C. Bassoonist Harrison Hollingsworth with Carl Maria von Weber’s Andande and Hungarian Rondo, followed by the complete Bruch Violin Concerto with Benjamin Beilman on violin. Both are conducted by Symphony in C Music Director, Rossen Milanov.

Program details:

Daniel Kellogg: Mozart's Hymn
-- Oberlin Chamber Orchestra; Raphael Jimenez, conductor.

Carl Maria von Weber: Andante and Hungarian Rondo
-- Harrison Hollingsworth, bassoon; Symphony in C; Rossen Milanov, conductor.

Max Bruch: Concerto No.1 in G Minor
-- Benjamin Beilman, violin; Symphony in C; Rossen Milanov, conductor.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, "Pastoral" (excerpt from finale)
-- Oberlin Chamber Orchestra; Raphael Jimenez, conductor.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.