Rainy Days

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

On this encore edition of All Ears, we hear music for the weeks leading up to spring. Sounds that peek through a fog; sounds that are lights at the end of a wintry tunnel; sounds for hopping over puddles on daily walks.

You'll hear from the City of Birmingham Orchestra and Sir Simon Rattle performing John Adams' Tromba Lontana. Composed in 1986 as a commission for the Houston Symphony, this minimalistic piece evokes liberation into a new life chapter. 

A composition by Eric Whitacre entitled Cloudburst performed by choral ensemble Polyphony takes us on a journey using claps, piano and percussion. You can imagine cumulonimbus clouds swirling while voices sing from a minor key and change to a major key. The piece is ostentatious and yet lovely for this phase of season.  

Biography from vocal innovator Meredith Monk and Alan Hovhaness' mysterious Fran Angelico are also on the program.

Remember back to those days of late March, with its varying colors and uncertain weather patterns.


John Adams: Tromba Lontana
City of Birmingham Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

Gabriel Faure: Nocturne No.13, Op. 119
Kathryn Stott, piano

Peteris Vasks: "Cantabile"
Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra
Juha Kangas, conductor

Russell Pinkston: TaleSpin
Jade Simmons, piano

Jason Treuting: Go
So Percussion

Eric Whitacre: Cloudburst
Stephen Layton, conductor

Meredith Monk: Biography
Meredith Monk, vocals
Andrea Goodman, vocals
Monica Solem, vocals
Julius Eastman, vocals

Valerie Capers: Blues for "The Duke"
African American woman
Maria Corley, piano

Ann Ronell: Willow Weep for Me
Art Tatum, piano

John Adams: eros Piano
Orchestra of St. Luke's
John Adams, conductor
Paul Crossley, piano

Claude Debussy: "Premiere rapsodie" for clarinet and orchestra
English Chamber Orchestra
Yan Pascal Tortelier, conductor
Emma Johnson, clarinet

Aaron Copland: Quiet City
Orcestra of St. Luke's
Dennis Russell Davies, conductor
Chris Gekker, trumpet
Stephen Taylor, english horn
Music Masters

Frederic Rzewski: A Life
Frederic Rzewski, piano

Alan Hovhaness: Fra Angelico
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Alan Hovhaness, conductor