Orpheus Opens Central Park Series with Mozart, Grieg and Bartók

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

On Tuesday, June 19 at 7:30 pm, WQXR kicks off a summer of outdoor events with a live broadcast from the Naumburg Bandshell in Central Park. Join host Midge Woolsey and Orpheus Chamber Orchestra for a program of Rossini, Grieg, Bartok and Mozart.

The concert kicks off a new season of Naumburg Orchestral Concerts, a series that has provided New Yorkers with alfresco performances continuously since 1905.


Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)
Overture: Il Signor Bruschino

Edvard Grieg
Holberg Suite
, Opus 40 (1884)

Praeludium (Allegro vivace)
Sarabande (Andante)
Gavotte (Allegretto)
Air (Andante religioso)
Rigaudon (Allegro con brio)


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 29 in A major, K 201 (1774)

Allegro moderato
Menuetto: Allegretto - Trio
Allegro con spirito

Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
Romanian Folk Dances (1917)

I. Bot tánc / Jocul cu bâta (Stick Dance)
II. Brâul (Sash Dance)
III. Topogó / Pe loc (In One Spot)
IV. Bucsumí tánc / Buciumeana (Horn Dance)
V. Román polka / Poarga Româneasca (Romanian Polka)
VI. Aprózó / Maruntel (Fast Dance)
VII. Aprózó / Maruntel (Fast Dance)


More in:

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.

Follow WQXR 


About Live Broadcasts

WQXR’s live broadcasts are supported in part by a generous leadership grant from the Stavros Niarchos Foundation.