I Celebrate Myself

« previous episode | next episode »

Saturday, June 23, 2012

(Chris Campbell/flickr)

This weekend on All Ears, we explore the feeling of being proud of oneself. However we feel a sense of accomplishment, we can almost always associate that emotion with pride. We've got a dose of positive energy for you on the show through the use of compositional talents of many proud musicians. 

We start with Rachmaninoff's 2 Pieces for Piano 6 Hands, a piece which he composed in order to impress a woman he had been admiring.  We then ease into Philip Glass's Etude No. 2 performed on piano. 

Baritone Thomas Hampson also makes an appearance on the show in a poem by Walt Whitman “To what you said” set to music by Leonard Bernstein. Whitman was famous for his Leaves of Grass, which contained one of the ultimate expressions of pride in his poem "I celebrate myself."

Other proud composers on the program include Paul Lansky, Arvo Part, Iva Bittova and Jennifer Higdon.

These in particular have expressed themselves through creative means and have stayed true to themselves.  And for that, we celebrate them.

Join in the discussion:  What pieces of music are you proud of?




Sergei Rachmaninoff: 2 Pieces for Piano 6 Hands: Romance

Vladimir Ashkenazy, piano

Vovka Ashkenazy, piano

Dody Ashkenazy, piano



Philip Glass: Etude No.2

Philip Glass, piano

Orange Mountain Music


Paul Lansky: Notjustmoreidlechatter

Hannah MacKay, voice



Arvo Part: Fratres

Kronos Quartet



Federico Mompou: Suburbis (Slums)

Carmen Bravo, piano



Edward K. (Duke) Ellington/Jaun Tizol: Caravan

Mulgrew Miller, piano

Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen, bass

Bang & Olufsen


Leonard Bernstein: Songfest: “To what you said” (Walt Whitman)

Thomas Hampson, baritone

Craiog Rutenberg, piano



Iva Bittova: Strange Young Lady (Divna Slecinka)

Iva Bittova, voice and violin



Richard Wagner: “Tristan und Isolde”: Prelude and ‘Liebestod’

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Donald Runnicles, conductor

Christine Brewer, soprano



Belinda Reynolds: Cover

New Milennium Ensemble

Tara O’Connor, flute

Greg Hesselink, cello

Margaret Kampmeier, piano



Jennifer Higdon: blue cathedral

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Robert Spano, conductor



Samuel Barber: Summer Music, op. 31

New York Woodwind Quintet

Boston Skyline


Foday Musa Suso: Summer Time

Foday Musa Suso, kora

Orange Mountain Music

Comments [2]

David, thanks for writing and for listening with an open heart!

Jun. 25 2012 08:10 PM
David Wen Riccardi-Zhu

I find little to treasure in pride and accomplishment-- often so illusory-- but the transition from Rachmaninoff to Glass and then Lansky was incredible. Thank you.

Jun. 23 2012 10:36 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.