Pianist Martin Helmchen's New York Recital Debut

Email a Friend

German pianist Martin Helmchen has performed in Berlin and London with some of the world’s most famous orchestras, but never before in New York. Only his second concert in the United States, this Concert from the Frick Collection was his New York recital debut.

Helmchen played “with a warm, fluid touch and poetic nuance,” said The New York Times review of this performance. We hear him showcase his musical talent with pieces by Johann Sebastian Bach, Arnold Schoenberg and Franz Liszt.

The entire second half of the program is devoted to Robert Schumann’s massive Symphonic Etudes, including five posthumous variations which were added back to the score by Johannes Brahms.

Program details:

Johann Sebastian Bach: Partita No.1 in B-Flat Major, BWV 825

Arnold Schoenberg: Six Piano Pieces, Opus 19

Franz Liszt:
Weinen -- klagen -- sorgen -- zagen S179
Au bord d’une source S160
From: Etudes d’exécution transcendante S139
Nuages gris S 199
Bagatelle sans tonalité S 216a
Vexillla regis prodeunt S185

Robert Schumann: Symphonic Etudes, Opus 13, with five “Etudes en forme de variations,” Opus posth.