Aulos Ensemble Explores New Ideas

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, July 15, 2012

This week's concert from the Frick Collection features a return visit from New York’s own Aulos Ensemble, which was founded by five Juilliard graduates in 1973. The ensemble is known for its Christmas concerts in front of the Neapolitan Christmas tree at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, lectures at universities around the country and its pioneering status among American period-instrument chamber groups.

After four decades, the Aulos Ensemble continues to explore new ideas. This program comprises pieces from the late 17th and 18th century France. The ensemble begins and concludes the concert with opera suites composed by Jean-Philippe Rameau.

Aulos Ensemble:
Christopher Krueger, flutist
Marc Schachman, oboist
Linda Quan, violinist
Myron Lutzke, cellist
Arthur Haas, harpsichorist

Program details:

Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from “Les Fêetes d’Hébé”

Francois Couperin: Troisième Concert Royal

Claude-Benigne Balbastre: Pièces de Clavecin

Jean-Philippe Rameau: Suite from “Les Indes galantes”

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.