The Knights Perform Copland, Reich, Haydn in Central Park

Email a Friend

Exclusive Video: The Knights Perform Debussy

The Knights return to the Naumburg Bandshell in Central Park for a performance on Tuesday, July 24, at 7:30 pm. Led by conductor Eric Jacobsen, the chamber orchestra will present a program of Haydn, Copland, Purcell, Reich and a world premiere by Matt Herskowitz.

A jazz strain runs through part of this concert, with Milhaud's La création du monde and the Concerto Grosso by the Montreal-based composer-pianist Matt Hershkowitz. The program also includes lighter summertime fare, including the Haydn Symphony No. 8 and Purcell's Airs and Dances.

WQXR's Midge Woolsey hosts the live broadcast.

Program details:

Eric Jacobsen, conductor

Matt Herskowitz, piano

Steve Reich: Duet

Henry Purcell: Airs and Dances

Matt Herskowitz: Concerto Grosso (world premiere)

Darius Milhaud: La création du monde, Op. 81a

Aaron Copland: Quiet City

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 8, 'Le Soir'

We want to hear about and see all your favorite summer music experiences. Tag your Tweets and Instagram photos with #WQXRsummer and also add to our Flickr pool. We'll share your photos throughout the summer.