Quiroga String Quartet Debut

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, July 29, 2012

The Cuerteto Quiroga is named after Galician violinist Manuel Quiroga, one of Spain’s most important string players. This Spanish group has performed for European and South American audiences and won top prize at competitions in France, Spain and Switzerland.

For its US debut performance at the Frick Collection, the Quiroga performs pieces by Webern and Beethoven, in addition to a quartet by Juan Crisostomo de Arriaga, also known as “The Spanish Mozart.” Though he only lived to age 19, Arriaga composed many beautiful works which were left undiscovered until the 20th century.

Quiroga String Quartet members:
Aitor Hevia and Cibrán Sierra, violin.
Josep Puchades, viola.
Helena Poggio, cello.

Program details:

Juan Crisostomo de Arriaga: Quartet No.3 in E-Flat Major

Anton Webern: Langsamer Satz (Slow Movement ) for String Quartet

Ludwig van Beethoven: Quartet in F Major, Opus 59, No.I, “Razumovsky”

Joaquín Turina: La Oracion Del Torero, Op. 34


Comments [1]

larry w english

This is my first time here. I very much like this site.

Jul. 29 2012 09:55 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.