The Artistry of Magnus Lindberg

« previous episode | next episode »

Saturday, August 25, 2012

The New York Philharmonic's composer-in-residence, Magnus Lindberg, is this week's focus with four original compositions assembled into a program highlighting world premieres for the Alan Gilbert conducted Expo and Lindberg's Piano Concerto No. 2 as well as Souvenir, Gran Duo, and his breakthrough Kraft.

Of Expo, Lindberg said, "As short as EXPO is there are more than 10 tempo markings, resulting in a feeling of great tension and energy in the orchestra." And to Magnus Lindberg, nothing can compare to the modern orchestra. "It is amazing how 100 players, focused by their conductor, can convey such excitement to the audience. It’s fantastic!"

Other Lindberg compositions that are highlighted include Gran Duo which was commissioned by the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and Royal Festival Hall as part of the final year of the decade-long Towards the Millennium Project. Piano Concerto No. 2 is a world premiere, New York Philharmonic Co-Commission with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra. And finally, the breakthrough Kraft features an arsenal of noise-making instruments augmented by various found objects, including scrap metal, an oxygen tank and other junk, all of which were picked up from a Staten Island junkyard.

Program Details:

Magnus Lindberg,  EXPO     
Magnus Lindberg, Souvenir            
Magnus Lindberg, Gran Duo (for woodwinds and brass)     
Magnus Lindberg, Piano Concerto No. 2 (World Premiere)     
Magnus Lindberg, Kraft

The WQXR e-newsletter. Show highlights, links to music news, on-demand concerts, events from The Greene Space and more.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.