Alan Gilbert Conducts Dvořák and a Corigliano World Premiere

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

This week’s New York Philharmonic broadcast features the September 2011, premiere of John Corigliano’s 9/11 piece, One Sweet Morning, under the direction of conductor Alan Gilbert.

The composer didn’t want the piece to become a tone poem – a piece of abstract orchestral music that attempted to depict the event, he told WQXR's Naomi Lewin last year.

For One Sweet Morning, a four-movement piece, Corigliano used other images, “both to refute and complement the all-too-vivid ones we’d bring with us into the concert hall," he wrote in a program note.

Program details:

John Corigliano: One Sweet Morning, for Mezzo-Soprano and Orchestra

Dvořák: Symphony No. 7