New York Philharmonic Premieres Akiho, Norman and Vaclavik

Audio not yet available
Email a Friend

On Tuesday, Dec. 25 at 8 pm, Q2 Music's New York Now webcasts the latest installment in the New York Philharmonic's new-music series, CONTACT!, featuring works by Andy Akiho, Andrew Norman, Jude Vaclavik and the late Jacob Druckman.

Led by conductor-composer Jayce Ogren in his Philharmonic debut, the concert presents two world premieres and Philharmonic commissions, Andy Akiho’s Nikola Tesla-inspired Oscillate and Jude Vaclavik’s Shock Waves, a work the composer explains references the "perceived and palpable effect of an invisible propagating force." The evening also features the New York premiere of Andrew Norman's Try about "the risk and failure and serendipitous discovery implicit in the word 'try'" and the ensemble arrangement of Jacob Druckman's Counterpoise with soprano soloist Elizabeth Futral. 

The concerts take place on Friday, Dec. 21 at 7 pm at The Metropolitan Museum of Art and Saturday, Dec. 22 at 8 pm at Symphony Space. WNYC's John Schaefer hosts the Friday performance; Jayce Ogren hosts Saturday.

This concert will also stream on Friday, Dec. 28 at 3 pm and Saturday, Dec. 29 at 10 am. Concert audio will be available on this page for 30 days following the initial webcast.


Andy Akiho: Oscillate
Andrew Norman: Try
Jude Vaclavik: Shock Waves
Jacob Druckman: Counterpoise